Call for Artists

Posted by CityMusic Cleveland ; Posted on 
Call for Artists - DEADLINE :  
Call for Artists




Call To Artists

Submissions Requested by June 22

CityMusic Cleveland is a professional chamber orchestra that has presented free concerts in Northeast Ohio neighborhoods since 2004. Our mission is to make classical music accessible by removing the barriers of cost, transportation and unfamiliar venues. We partner with and perform in local communities to ensure sustained and frequent local access to high-quality performing arts experiences.

Our 2020-21 Chamber Music Series celebrates the centennial of the ratification of the 19th Amendment, which secured the right to vote for American women. We are seeking female Cleveland artists to create images to be used in printed and online marketing materials.

Images can be digital or produced in a 2-dimensional medium that can be scanned at a high resolution. We are seeking images that represent the perspective of artists from underrepresented groups, and the selection process will especially emphasize works by artists of color.

CityMusic will pay $500 per image selected. Up to twelve images may be selected, each to be paired with a concert program in the series.

Both digital and physical artworks will become the property of CityMusic Cleveland if selected. Artist will be credited where the artwork is used. Digital files of the artwork can be retained for artist portfolio purposes, but images should not be sold to other entities.

Artists can submit a sketch or preliminary version of work, or a finished work for consideration. A high-resolution photo or scan is suitable for the submission process. Artists will also need to submit a bio (~300 words) and brief description of the concept for their artwork. Submissions accepted here:

Submissions requested by June 22, 2020.

Please contact Laura Potter with questions.

Selected composers to be featured in the series:

Amy Beach, Margaret Brouwer, Teresa Carreño, Rebecca Clark, Leonara Duarte, Libby Larsen, Luise Adolpha Le Beau, Jessie Montgomery, Fanny Mendelssohn, Florence Price, Shelley Washington